Assessing User Centric eGovernment performance in Europe

Project in brief

Indigov (now Indiville) was responsible for the user survey in the EU-study on Public Services Online ‘Digital by Default, or by Detour?’ Assessing User Centric eGovernment performance in Europe – eGovernment Benchmark 2012. Jo Steyaert was the lead researcher for this project.

The User Survey exercise provided a new and true-demand picture of how European Citizens perceive online public services. As far as known, it is the first time this exercise has been completed on this scale, revealing representative insights at both country and EU level. The survey reached 28,000 internet-using citizens across 32 EU countries, exploring 27 questions, and 19 most common citizen services. This provides a picture with 95% confidence (relevancy) of the views of the 600 million European citizens.

The full report of this study can be downloaded here.

Full project description

Indigov (now Indiville) was responsible for the design of the quantitative user survey: i.e. the development of the research methodology, the design of the questionnaire, the sample framework, the implementation & fieldwork and reporting of the survey.

The survey was administered in the EU27 as well as in Croatia, Norway, Turkey and Iceland. In 2011, the benchmark was re-designed and 2012 was the first year the re-designed benchmark was put into practice. It addressed four broad focus areas, derived from the policy priorities of the eGovernment Action plan: Empowering government, Seamless government, Results-driven government.
This survey targeted the Internet population of 32 countries with a total of more than 600 million inhabitants. This Internet population represents 72% of the total population between 16 and 74 years old (based on Eurostat data on Internet use by individuals in the previous 12 months). For each country, a representative sample of the Internet population was determined (interlaced by age/gender and representative of NUTS 1 regions). The target population was reached via online survey panels . The results from the user survey Europe-wide represents a total of 28 177 respondents.
The survey examined through 27 questions:

  • User profiles and target groups: categorisation of eGovernment users/non-users (demographics, Internet use, levels of trust in using the Internet, contacts with Government, …)
  • Usage of eGovernment services during the last 12 months, including channel use and preferences, and likelihood of future use
  • User satisfaction: satisfaction in comparison to other explanatory factors such as satisfaction with non-government eServices (eBanking, social networks, eCommerce), user expectations and achievement of objectives
  • Perceived benefits (impact): perceived benefits of using eGovernment channels and services
  • Barriers to use for eGovernment services, including awareness: explanatory factors that prevent citizens from using the online channel, including lack of awareness.
Error: Invalid or expired token. (89)

Évaluation de la performance du e-Gouvernement centré sur l’utilisateur en Europe

Projet en bref

Indiville était responsable de l’enquête de consommateurs dans l’étude de l’UE sur les Services Publics en ligne ‘Digital by Default, or by Detour?’ Évaluation de User Centric eGovernment performance en Europe – eGovernment Benchmark 2012. Jo Steyaert était le chercheur principal de ce projet.

L’exercice de cette enquête d’utilisateurs a offert une image nouvelle et fidèle de la demande et de la façon dont les citoyens européens perçoivent les services publics en ligne. Il semble que c’est la première fois qu’une tel exercice ait été réalisé à cette échelle, révélant des idées représentatives tant au niveau national que de l’UE. L’enquête, c’est 28 000 citoyens utilisant Internet dans 32 pays de l’UE qui ont répondu à 27 questions concernant les 19 services les plus courants. Elle donne une image fiable à 95% des points de vue des 600 millions de citoyens européens.

Le rapport complet de cette étude peut être téléchargé ici.

Description complète du projet

Indiville était responsable de la conception de l’enquête quantitative de l’utilisateur: à savoir le développement de la méthodologie de la recherche, la conception du questionnaire, la base de sondage, la mise en œuvre, le travail de terrain et les rapports de l’enquête.

L’enquête a été menée dans l’UE27, ainsi qu’en Croatie, en Norvège, en Turquie et en Islande. En 2011, l’indice de référence a été revu et 2012 était la première année d’application de cette nouvelle référence. Il portait sur quatre domaines principaux, issus des priorités politiques du plan d’action e-gouvernement: le gouvernement autonome, le gouvernement transparent, le gouvernement axé sur les résultats.
Cette enquête a ciblé la population internet de 32 pays avec un total de plus de 600 millions d’habitants. Cette population internet représente 72% de la population totale entre 16 et 74 ans (selon les données d’Eurostat sur l’utilisation d’Internet par les individus au cours des 12 mois précédents). Pour chaque pays, un échantillon représentatif de la population Internet a été déterminé (entrelacé par âge et par sexe et représentant des régions NUTS 1). La population cible a été atteinte grâce à des groupes d’enquête en ligne. Les résultats de l’enquête auprès des utilisateurs européens représentent un total de 28 177 répondants.
L’enquête a porté sur 27 questions :

  • Profils d’utilisateurs et groupes cibles: catégorisation des utilisateurs/non utilisateurs de l’e-Gouvernement (démographie, utilisation d’Internet, niveaux de confiance dans l’utilisation d’internet, les contacts avec le gouvernement, …)
  • L’utilisation des services du e-Gouvernement au cours des 12 derniers mois, y compris l’utilisation du canal et les préférences, et la probabilité d’une utilisation future.
  • La satisfaction des utilisateurs: satisfaction par rapport à d’autres facteurs explicatifs tels que la satisfaction avec les e-Services non gouvernementaux (e-banking, réseaux sociaux, e-commerce), les attentes des utilisateurs et la réalisation des objectifs .
  • Les avantages perçus (impact): avantages perçus de l’utilisation des canaux et des services du e-Gouvernement.
  • Obstacles à l’utilisation des services du e-Gouvernement, y compris la conscience : les facteurs explicatifs qui font que les citoyens n’utilisent pas le canal en ligne, y compris le manque de prise de conscience.
Error: Invalid or expired token. (89)